c. 3) and the Saskatchewan Act (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)—it was provided that their representation should be readjusted on the basis of the results of the quinquennial census of 1906. The Representation Act of 1907, implementing this pledge, increased the representation of Saskatchewan from 6 to 10 and of Alberta from 4 to 7 members, thus raising the total membership of the House of Commons to 221.

The census of 1911, with its very large but very unevenly distributed increase of population, led to considerable changes in representation, enacted by the Representation Act of 1914. The representation of Ontario was reduced from 86 to 82, of Nova Scotia from 18 to 16, of New Brunswick from 13 to 11, of Prince Edward Island from 4 to 3. On the other hand, the representation of Manitoba was raised from 10 to 15, of Saskatchewan from 10 to 16, of Alberta from 7 to 12 and of British Columbia from 7 to 13. The net result was an increase of 13 members in the total membership of the House of Commons, bringing the figure to 234. However, in the following session the amendment to the British North America Act, already referred to, resulted in the retention by Prince Edward Island of her fourth member (since she had 4 senators). (See also 5 Geo. V, c. 19). The total membership, therefore, of the House of Commons in the thirteenth and fourteenth Parliaments (elected in 1917 and 1921 respectively) was 235.

As a result of the smaller increase of population shown by the census of 1921. the changes in representation were less far-reaching. Nova Scotia lost 2 members and the West gained 12, 2 of these being added to Manitoba, 5 to Saskatchewan, 4 to Alberta and 1 to British Columbia. The representation of the remaining four provinces was unchanged. Prince Edward Island retained its 4 members because of the provisions of the British North America Act of 1915, to the effect that the members of the House of Commons returned by a province shall never be fewer than its senators. Ontario, again, retained its 82 members because under subsection 4 of section 51 of the British North America Act (quoted p. 79), the proportion which its population bore to the aggregate population of the Dominion had not declined by one-twentieth. Further, by the Quebec Boundaries Extension Act of 1912, it had been stipulated that the population of the added area (Ungava) should not be included for the purpose of determining the unit of representation, so that the 1921 population of Quebec, within its 1911 boundaries, viz., 2,358,412, divided by the fixed number of 65 seats for that province, became the new unit of representation, 36,283.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the seventeen general elections since Confederation is given in Table 7.

 Representation in the House of Commons as at Dominion General Elections, 1867-1930.

Province.	1867	1872.	1874.	1878.	1882	1887.	1891 .	1896.	1900.	1904.	1908.	1911.	1917.	1921	1925.1
Ontario. Quebec. Nova Scotia. New Brunswick. Manitoba. British Columbia. P. E. Island. Saskatchewan. Alberta. Yukon.	19 15 -	88 65 21 16 4 6	88 65 21 16 4 6 6	98 65 21 16 4 6	92 65 21 16 5 6	92 65 21 16 5 6 6	92 65 21 16 5 6 4	92 £5 20 14 7 6 5	92 65 20 14 7 6 5	96 65 18 13 10 7 4	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 { 10 7	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12	82 65 14 11 17 14 4 21
Totals	181	290	206	296	211	215	215	213	213	214	221	221	235	285	215

<sup>1</sup> The representation at the general elections of 1926 and 1930 was the same as in 1925.